News : 2010

Andrew V. Schally, Ph.D., M.D.h.c., D.Sc.h.c.

Growth Hormone-releasing Hormone Antagonist Exhibits Benefits on Some Aspects of Aging

A University of Miami Miller School of Medicine researcher and collaborators at other institutions have developed an antagonist to growth hormone that seems to reverse some of the signs of aging. The just published finding appears to overturn recent thinking that growth hormones could prolong youth.

Read more »

Robert Hernandez, M.D., senior associate dean for medical student administration, left, and Deborah Powell, M.D., 2009-2010 AAMC chair.

AAMC Honors Miller School’s Service in Haiti

The University of Miami Miller School of Medicine received national recognition for its outstanding contributions to academic medicine and the global community from the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) during an awards ceremony at the organization’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C., on Saturday.

Read more »

Women’s Cancer League Developmental Grant Program 2010-11 Awardees Announced

The Braman Family Breast Cancer Institute is pleased to announce this year’s Sylvester Braman Family Breast Cancer Institute’s Women’s Cancer League Developmental Grant Program awardees.

Read more »

Richard J. Cote, M.D., professor and chair of pathology

Portable Filter-based Microdevice Detects Circulating Tumor Cells

A group of scientists and physicians, led by Richard J. Cote, M.D., professor and chair of pathology at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, has developed a novel filter-based microdevice that detects and characterizes circulating tumor cells, which “could transform the way cancer is diagnosed and treated,” says Cote.

Read more »

From left, Coleen Atkins, Ph.D., Marina Casalino-Matsuda, Ph.D., David Kamons, of Northern Trust, which manages the Stanley J. Glaser Foundation; Dean Pascal Goldschmidt, M.D.; Kent Benedict, of Northern Trust; Arumugan Jayakumar, Ph.D.; Priyamvada Rai, Ph.D.; and Michael Kim, Ph.D., celebrate this year’s awards.

Glaser Research Awards Honor Miller School's Rising Stars

Seventy Miller School faculty, including several department chairs and center and institute directors, gathered in the Clinical Research Building last week to honor this year’s winners of the Stanley J. Glaser Research Awards and hear presentations from last year’s winners.

Read more »

The new AAP inductees are from left: Richard Cote, M.D., Camillo Ricordi, M.D., Antonio Bianco, M.D., Ph.D., and Joyce Slingerland, M.D., Ph.D.

Four Faculty Members Inducted into Association of American Physicians

Four University of Miami Miller School of Medicine physicians have been inducted into the prestigious Association of American Physicians (AAP), founded in 1885 for “the advancement of scientific and practical medicine.” Induction is considered a great honor as members have included Nobel laureates and members of the National Academy of Science and the Institute of Medicine.

Read more »

Michael D. Norenberg, M.D.

UM Pathologist Wins Annual VA Research Award

Michael D. Norenberg, M.D., professor of pathology and biochemistry and molecular biology at the Miller School of Medicine and staff neuropathologist at the Miami VA Medical Center, has received the William S. Middleton Award from the Department of Veterans Affairs. Established 50 years ago, the Middleton Award is the highest honor presented annually by the Research and Development Office of the VA.

Read more »